Home Our Events Africa’S Response To The Covid 19 Pandemic: Challenges And Prospects For Africa

Africa’S Response To The Covid 19 Pandemic: Challenges And Prospects For Africa

Share this:

Date: 30th October 2020  –  Time: 2:00PM – 3:30PM (GMT+1)
Venue: Online via Zoom Platform.

Background

Since the outbreak of the novel corona virus, Africa has suffered from devastating effects as result of the pandemic as so many lives have been lost and still counting. As reported by CDC, Africa has had over 11,000 deaths as of the 6th of July. The continent like other continents around the globe has been responding to this pandemic. The pandemic has had an effect not only on the health sector but also on other domains such as its economy, growth and development. Experts have worried about COVID-19 spreading to Africa, because many of the healthcare systems on the continent are inadequate, having problems such as lack of equipment, lack of funding, insufficient training of healthcare workers, and inefficient data transmission. It was feared that the pandemic could be difficult to keep under control in Africa, and could cause huge economic problems. Given that the virus is new, science continues to make more and more discoveries about its virulence, treatment and possible vaccines. Seemingly, the virus will may still be around for a long time, hence it is imperative for Africa to continue to pursue means to continue the growth of its economy whilst responding to the pandemic.

The Goal and Purpose of this event

  • To bring to light the impact of COVID-19 on the African continent
  • Assess the response strategy of African countries: challenges and opportunities
  • To propose a strategy to revamp the African countries amid the consequences of the Covid-19 Pandemic

 Main themes to be discussed during the event

Africa’s response to the pandemic

  • Challenges in responding to the pandemic
  • Effect of the pandemic on Africa’s growth and development
  • How can Africa ensure its growth and development in the COVID era

Expected Results

At the end of the event, participants will understand the following;

  •  The  impact of COVID-19 on the African continent
  • The response strategy of African countries: challenges and opportunities
  • Possible strategies to revamp the African countries amid the consequences of the Covid-19 Pandemic

 Time/Venue

October 30th, 2020 at 9AM EDT, 2PM WAT, 4PM EAT, 6:30PM IST

Event will be held on ZOOM and streamed live

REGISTER HERE

The event is finished.

Nkafu Policy Institute

Organizer

Nkafu Policy Institute
Phone
+237 654 86 72 54
Email
[email protected]
Website
https://nkafu.org/

Catalyzing Africa’s Economic Transformation

Leave A Comment

Go to Top